Faculty

Posted on
EndresJohannes Endres
Associate Professor

19th-century Art History; German and European Literature 1750-1900 in Interdisciplinary Perspectives (Visual Arts, Film, Music, Sciences); Cultural Studies; Critical Theory.

(951) 827-1541
johannes.endres@ucr.edu
Jeanette KohlJeanette Kohl
Associate Professor

Italian Renaissance Art and Architecture; Object and Material Culture; Portraiture and the Human Face; Theories and Concepts of Representation; Early Modern Medicine and History of Knowledge; Medical Humanities

(951) 827-5919
jkohl@ucr.edu
LizKotzLiz Kotz
Associate Professor

Modern and contemporary art history; experimental film, video and performance; psychoanalysis and critical theory, media theories and media technologies.

(951) 827-5921
ewkotz@ucr.edu
Susan LaxtonSusan Laxton
Associate Professor, Graduate Advisor

History and theory of photography; European avant-garde art of the 20th century, particularly its engagements with chance and psychoanalysis; critical theory.

(951) 827-4626
slaxton@ucr.edu
Aleca Le BlancAleca Le Blanc
Assistant Professor, Website Administrator

Modern Latin American art and architecture with a focus on Brazil; global modernisms, architecture and urbanism, visual culture, abstraction, institutional histories, and collecting and display.

(951) 827-4601
aleca.leblanc@ucr.edu
Kristoffer NevilleKristoffer Neville
Associate Professor, Undergraduate Advisor

Early modern painting, sculpture, and (especially) architecture. Cultural contacts and cultural transfer. Northern Europe, ca 1500-1800.

(951) 827-5057
kneville@ucr.edu
Fatima Quraishi
Assistant Professor
Islamic Art and Architecture, Indo-Islamic Architecture, Devotional Practices and Material Culture, Transregional and Transcultural Histories, Historiography of Islamic Architecture in South Asia.

Fatima.Quraishi@ucr.edu
ConradConrad Rudolph
Distinguished Professor

Medieval Art History with special interests in such topics as the social theory of medieval art, the ideological use of art, monasticism and art, the origin of Gothic art, and the art and social change.

(951) 827-4240
conrad.rudolph@ucr.edu
WeemsBigJason Weems
Associate Professor, Chair

American art and visual/material culture from the colonial era to the present, with research emphasis on the later nineteenth to mid-twentieth centuries; history of photography; art and social movements; modern design; vision and technology; critical and interdisciplinary theory.

(951) 827-5922
jweems@ucr.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Malcolm Baker, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
mcbaker@ucr.edu

Françoise Forster-Hahn, Distinguished Professor Emerita
 francoise.forster@ucr.edu

Ginger Cheng-Chi Hsu, Associate Professor Emerita
 ginger.hsu@ucr.edu 

Thomas Pelzel, Associate Professor Emeritus

Lecturer

Nicole Strathman
nicole.strathman@ucr.edu

Sunkyung Kim

Maria Landsberg