Faculty

Posted on
Malcolm BakerMalcolm Baker
Distinguished Professor

History of sculpture, especially in 18th-century Britain, France and Germany; portraiture, especially of authors; 18th-century British art, history of collecting and display.

(951) 827-4634
mcbaker@ucr.edu
EndresJohannes Endres
Assistant Professor

19th-century Art History; German and European Literature 1750-1900 in Interdisciplinary Perspectives (Visual Arts, Film, Music, Sciences); Cultural Studies; Critical Theory.

(951) 827-1541
johannes.endres@ucr.edu
Jeanette KohlJeanette Kohl
Associate Professor, Chair

Italian Renaissance Art and Architecture; Object and Material Culture; Portraiture and the Human Face; Theories and Concepts of Representation; Early Modern Medicine and History of Knowledge; Medical Humanities

(951) 827-5919
jkohl@ucr.edu
LizKotzLiz Kotz
Associate Professor

Modern and contemporary art history; experimental film, video and performance; psychoanalysis and critical theory, media theories and media technologies.

(951) 827-5921
ewkotz@ucr.edu
Susan LaxtonSusan Laxton
Assistant Professor

History and theory of photography; European avant-garde art of the 20th century, particularly its engagements with chance and psychoanalysis; critical theory.

(951) 827-4626
slaxton@ucr.edu
Aleca Le BlancAleca Le Blanc
Assistant Professor, Website Administrator

Modern Latin American art and architecture with a focus on Brazil; global modernisms, architecture and urbanism, visual culture, abstraction, institutional histories, and collecting and display.

(951) 827-4601
aleca.leblanc@ucr.edu
Patricia MortonPatricia Morton
Associate Professor, Graduate Advisor

History of modern and contemporary European and American architecture and cities; French colonial architecture.

(951) 827-2698
patricia.morton@ucr.edu
Kristoffer NevilleKristoffer Neville
Associate Professor

Early modern painting, sculpture, and (especially) architecture. Cultural contacts and cultural transfer. Northern Europe, ca 1500-1800.

(951) 827-5057
kneville@ucr.edu
parkJ.P. Park
Associate Professor, Undergraduate Advisor
East Asian art history, Chinese print culture, Early Modern Korean art, contemporary East Asian art, Globalism and Multiculturalism in contemporary art.

(951) 827-7736
jp.park@ucr.edu
ConradConrad Rudolph
Distinguished Professor

Medieval Art History with special interests in such topics as the social theory of medieval art, the ideological use of art, monasticism and art, the origin of Gothic art, and the art and social change.

(951) 827-4240
conrad.rudolph@ucr.edu
WeemsBigJason Weems
Associate Professor

American art and visual/material culture from the colonial era to the present, with research emphasis on the later nineteenth to mid-twentieth centuries; history of photography; art and social movements; modern design; vision and technology; critical and interdisciplinary theory.

(951) 827-5922
jweems@ucr.edu

Cooperating Faulty

Karl A. Taube, Professor and Chair of the Department of Anthropology
karl.taube@ucr.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Françoise Forster-Hahn, Distinguished Professor Emerita
 francoise.forster@ucr.edu

Ginger Cheng-Chi Hsu, Associate Professor Emerita
 ginger.hsu@ucr.edu 

Dericksen M Brinkerhoff, Professor Emeritus
 dericksen.brinkerhoff@ucr.edu 

Thomas Pelzel, Associate Professor Emeritus

Lecturers

Madison Brookshire
mbrook@ucr.edu

Blair Davis
blair.davis@ucr.edu

Daniel Hackbarth

Nicole Strathman
nicole.strathman@ucr.edu